ICCF 2006 -- Dresden, Germany
Note from George Pyrich, Delegate for Scotland (SCO)

Day 1, 15 October 2006

Sunday, 15 October 2006

Hi Franklin!

Greetings from Dresden, Germany! Herewith a brief report of an action-packed 1st day of the 59th ICCF Congress!

Our gracious German hosts have provided us with really excellent facilities in the Ramada Hotel - - BdF President Fritz Baumbach welcomed everyone to Congress before handing over to Herr Lehmann, Mayor of Dresden who extended a warm welcome to Dresden - next Alfred Schlya, President of the German Chess Federation spoke of chess in Dresden, mentioning the 2007 European Championship and the 2008 FIDE Olympiad, both events scheduled to be held in Dresden. Thereafter ICCF President Med Samraoui formally declared the Congress open, expressing the wish for a successful and constructive Congress.

The Minutes of the 2005 Congress were formally approved following a few small modifications and Algeria and Ghana were welcomed as 65th and 66th members of the ICCF family. ICCF Honorary Memberships were granted to President Med Samraoui and long time Hungarian delegate and ICCF historian Ivan Bottlik. Bertl von Massow Gold awards were presented to Gianni Mastrojeni (ITA), Per Soderberg (SWE), Georg Walker (SUI) and Fritz Baumbach (GER) - Silver awards were presented to Pedro Hegoburu (ARG), Zdenek Nyvlt (CZE) and Karel Glaser (CZE). The Congress was delighted to welcome new World Champion Ivar Bern (NOR) who received his Gold Medal and certificate. Prizes were also awarded to the successful teams in the Rochade 5171 team event by TD Joachim Walther (GER) - 1st Czech Republic, 2nd Germany II and 3rd Germany I

Delegates were greatly impressed when they were able to hear the new "ICCF Anthem" prepared by Dmitry Lybin (BLR)

Next on the Agenda was ICCF financial affairs - North American Zonal Director Ruth Ann Fay (USA) had bravely taken on the unenviable task of preparing ICCF accounts for 2004 and 2005 following the resignations of 2 finance directors in 2 years. Unfortunately the 2004 accounts have still not received the unqualified approval of the ICCF Auditor and the 2005 accounts were not submitted to the Auditor in time for scrutiny for congress. However, ICCF finances remain healthy with ICCF assets increasing by some 15,000 SF in the 12 months to 31.12.2005 in the accounts presented by Ruth Ann.

Thereafter numerous vacant positions were filled! George Pyrich (SCO) was also unopposed for the post of Deputy President after Dmitry Lybin (BLR) withdrew his nomination. ,Hans-Jurgen Isigkeit (GER) was elected unopposed to the post of Finance Director - Dmitry was appointed to the post of Chairman of the Arbiter`s Commission, replacing Ragnar Wikman who retired.

Per Soderberg (SWE) became the new Chairman of the Appeals Commission (Other Rules) whilst Gino Figlio (PER) was appointed as Webserver Commissioner. Finally, Marco Caressa (ITA) was appointed Title Tournaments Commissioner, replacing Daniel Finkelstein (ARG) who recently retired.

The ICCF President thanked all retiring officials for their considerable services in their respective positions.

The day ended with a very interesting presentation on the ICCF Webserver by WDSC Chairman Alan Borwell (SCO), Ratings Commissioner Gerhard Binder (GER) and technical systems designer Martin Bennedik (GER). Martin offered numerous up to date statistics - thus far around 1.8 million moves have been played on the server in 92,327 games by 4,145 registered users! Congress approved budget of 15,000 SF for new webserver developments during 2007. Gerhard reported that the ICCF Rating System will be fully operational on the server during 2007.

More news soon!


ICCF Congress Home Page       ICCF Web Site         CC.COM Web Site
E-mail corrections and updates to:
Contact Webmaster